Thanksgiving Week

My favorite time of the year is in November, because it has become a tradition to ask off work for the week and enjoy thanksgiving, my birthday, and James’ birthday. They’re all so close together that it has turned into a week of excitement, surprises, and rest. Monday the nineteenth was James’ birthday, and I really had a hard time this year deciding what to do for him. I love “event” type birthday presents where they turn into doing something fun together. Of course material things are always necessary too, so I try to combine the two. James is not a sports fanatic, but he does love a few things…music, video games, his computer and remodeling it, and delicious foods. He is not much for big social gatherings, so I finally discovered a really fun shooting range, and knew it would be something he thoroughly enjoyed. He has been talking about hunting, gun ownership, etc… for a year now. The last time we shot guns was with my uncle in Alabama…who has a wide selection and a lot of land. James had a blast and has talked about owning a gun ever since. Anyways James had a ton of fun with the target practice and insisted on us buying another round of ammo and returning a couple weeks later…

Image

We then had an amazing dinner (James’ favorite filet mignon, cabernet, and pumpkin pie)

My birthday was on thanksgiving, a phenomena that happens once every 5-6 years. I really wanted to just enjoy time with my family, cooking, and eating, and playing games. Wednesday night we enjoyed a dinner with my closest friends, and I was so happy to see all of them (missing a few)…We woke up early Thursday morning and made a FEAST and had a wonderful thanksgiving dinner at my brother’s beautiful house.  It was a great day with the family, followed by more time with my best friends, all in all a perfect week with the people I love!!

ImageImage

Image

One of my favorite recipes this year was Pumpkin French Toast Bake

I found it on pinterest, and it was so easy to make the night before, pop in the oven thanksgiving morning, and serve as a delicious breakfast.

You break apart (or cut if you are extremely OCD like me) into cubes about a loaf of bread, any kind that you love. I chose a thick texas toast. Place the cubes into a 9X13 oven safe dish. I lined the dish with butter, because that’s what Paula Dean would do…

Image

Whisk together 7 eggs, 2 cups of milk, 1tsp vanilla, 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1/4 pumpkin butter or 1/2 cup pumpkin puree, and 3-4 tablespoons of brown sugar

Image

Pour the mixture over your cubes and refrigerate over night

Image


Then bake it at 350 degrees for about 40 minutes. Serve with maple syrup!

I forgot to take a finished picture the next morning, because we all devoured it so quickly :).

Leave a Reply

